Chattanooga area teams have been having a great season. A few players on those teams earned semifinalist honors for this year's Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Award.

South Pittsburg running back and linebacker Ronto Tipton is a semifinalist in 1A. Tipton has been a big part of the Pirates 9-0 record and region championship season.

In 2A, Meigs County's Aaron Swafford is a semifinalist again. Swafford won the award last year. Tyner quarterback and defensive back Martavius Ryals joins him as a semifinalist.


Boyd Buchanan has had one of the biggest turnarounds in the state this season. Quarterback Eli Morris has been a catalyst of their success and earns himself a semifinalist honor in Division-II-AA.

The tradition at McCallie and Baylor speaks for itself. This season, both the Blue Tornado and Red Raiders, have a chance to make a state title run. They'll do so with their Mr. Football semifinalists. McCallie quarterback DeAngelo Hardy and Baylor running back Elijah Howard are semifinalists in Division-II-AAA.

The Titans also honor a Kicker of the Year. East Hamilton and Jacksonville State commit, Alen Karajic, is among five semifinalists for the award.

Finalists will be announced by Mike Keith on on Tuesday, November 19th at Noon EST. They will narrow it down to three finalists in each classification that will be invited to Nissan Stadium for an awards luncheon on Monday, December 2nd, where the winner will be announced.