Georgia voters head to the polls Tuesday for the state's general and special election.

Catoosa County:

Residents will be voting countywide on a referendum that will allow "a person age 65 or over and whose maximum family income is at or below 30-thousand dollars per annum to qualify for an exemption from Catoosa County School district ad valorem taxes for education purposes."

Residents in the cities of Ringgold and Fort Oglethorpe will also cast votes for mayor and council members.




Walker County: 

Rossville residents will vote for mayor and two council members. 

Whitfield County:

Cohutta residents will vote for town council, Dalton will vote for mayor, two aldermen, and board of education.  And in Varnell residents will vote for three city council seats.

Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.