Phishing scams that used to target people through e-mail and text messages, are now showing up as phony calendar invitations. The Better Business Bureau is warning people not to fall for it.

If you use a digital calendar like Outlook or Google to keep track of your day-to-day schedule, you're at risk of being targeted.

"We're hearing where people are (going) to go to open up their calendar and (there's) an appointment that you're not familiar with or you don't remember making," BBB CEO Jim Winsett explained.

Officials with the Better Business Bureau say scammers are taking advantage of default calendar settings. It starts with a phony calendar invite and could end in malware being installed on your electronic devices or worse.

"If you're clicking the link...it could be phishing where it's trying to get personal information," Winsett told Channel 3.

He explained that the default calendar settings allow for events to be automatically added to a person's calendar.

"Using Outlook calendar, Google calendar, others, if your settings are open where you can accept invites from anyone," he said

It may look legitimate with the link followed by a short description and even promotion of special discounts or offers--but it's not.

He recommends digital calendar users turn the feature off.

"Go to the settings and set it where you have to accept the invitation. Don't have an open program where anyone can place a meeting invitation on your calendar," he added.

It could be the difference between going about your regular schedule and getting scammed.

If you or someone you know has been targeted by a phishing scam you can click here.