Walker County property owners should notice a slight decrease in their taxes notices this year.

Commissioner Shannon Whitfield plans to reduce the rate for residents in both the unincorporated and incorporated areas of the county, according to spokesman Joe Legge.

The new rate of 9.822 mills for Walker County residents in unincorporated locations represents a 0.16% reduction in county taxes.

City residents will experience a 0.28% decrease, as the tax rate for property owners in incorporated areas will be set at 13.293 mills.

The lower tax rate comes as Walker County Government ended the “Public Health Facilities and Services District,” also known as the Erlanger fee, for this upcoming tax cycle.

These two developments mean owners whose property is valued at $100,000 will save over $140 from the county’s portion of the tax bill this year; other changes made by other taxing authorities could have a different impact on individual taxpayers' overall savings.

“The days of leases and loans are behind us,” said Commissioner Whitfield. “We continue to reduce debt, operate on a fiscally responsible budget and explore creative options to enhance revenue, so we can hold the line on property taxes. The sacrifices endured over the past two and a half years have positioned Walker County to grow and prosper as we progress into the next decade.”

The new millage rate will be adopted at the Commissioner’s Regular Meeting on August 8th at 6:00 p.m. at the Courthouse Annex III building, located at 201 S Main Street in LaFayette.