#Decision2018: TN House Districts 28 & 30 to have new representatives

The incumbents for Districts 28 and 30 did not seek re-election, so the winners of these races will be newcomers to the Tenn. House of Representatives.
Wednesday, November 7th 2018, 9:29 AM EST
Left: Yusuf Hakeem - D | Right: Lemon Williams - R
Left: Yusuf Hakeem - D | Right: Lemon Williams - R

UPDATE: Two seats in the Tennessee State House of Representatives were on the ballot for the midterms elections.

Some of the responsibilities for members of the House of Representatives are state spending, taxes, and to pass bills on public policy. 

The incumbents for District 28 and District 30 did not seek re-election, so the winners of these races will be newcomers to the Tennessee House of Representatives.

JoAnne Favors represented District 28 for 14 years and decided not to seek re-election.

In District 28, Yusuf Hakeem defeated Lemon Williams. He celebrated with his family and the Hamilton County Democratic Party at the Feed Company Table and Tavern downtown. We asked Hakeem about his victory; he thanked Hamilton County voters for "showing up and showing out." 

"I feel very good. I feel very blessed. People have responded to our message and of course that gives me an opportunity to represent them in a way that they're looking forward to and being responsive to their interests and concerns," said Hakeem. 

Hakeem was the sole Democrat winner in Hamilton County. 

District 28 covers Chattanooga, Ridgeside, and parts of Harrison.

Hakeem defeated four other candidates in the Democratic primary for the House seat.

Hakeem is a former city councilman and was endorsed by Favors, who also celebrated with Hakeem Tuesday night. 

Marc Gravitt represented District 30 for four years and did not seek re-election. However, he is now the Register of Deeds in Hamilton County.

In District 30, Esther Helton defeated Joda Thongnopnua.

District 30 includes Apison, Collegedale, and East Ridge.

Independent candidate Michael Holloway has thrown his support behind Thongnopnua.

Helton defeated Jonathan Mason in the primary and Thongnopnua ran unopposed.

Polls in Tennessee close at 8:00 pm.

Stay with the WRCB app for continuing coverage of #Decision2018 results.  

In Case You Missed It