NEW YORK, NY  (WRCB)  ---  Alabama Crimson Tide running back Derrick Henry has won the 2015 Heisman Trophy award.

Henry, the perceived favorite in the field, beat out finalists Deshaun Watson of Clemson and Stanford running back Christian McCaffery.

Henry led the Football Bowl Subdivision with 1,986 rushing yards and 23 touchdowns. 

Last week, he broke Herschel Walker's record for rushing yards in a season and tied the SEC record of Tim Tebow and Tre Mason for rushing touchdowns.

He also led Alabama to the SEC title and a spot in the College Football Playoff.