The Tennessee Department of Education today announced the newest round of Priority and Focus Schools, as well as school-level TCAP results.

Tennessee's accountability system identifies three types of schools, as required by the U.S. Department of Education: Priority, Focus, and Reward Schools. Priority and Focus Schools are named every three years, and the first designation was in 2012. Priority Schools are the 5 percent of schools across the state with the lowest overall performance. Focus Schools are 10 percent of schools with the largest achievement gaps between groups of students, regardless of overall performance.

A complete list of 2014 Reward Schools (those with the highest overall performance or growth) will be released on Thursday.There are five priority schools in Hamilton County, all of which are Title I, and all part of the "Innovation Zone," which has resulted in state funding for improvements during the past two years.  Hamilton County Superintendent Rick Smith said, "We are not where we want to be, but we're pleased that the schools on the priority list made considerable improvement.  They have good leadership and have done a really good job."  He said the focus schools failed to meet benchmarks in a single sub-group, and should not reflect on the schools' overall performance.  They know they have some work to do in a particular area, and they will work hard to improve."

The priority schools are:

  • Brainerd High
  • Dalewood Middle
  • Orchard Knob Elementary and Middle
  • Woodmore Elementary

Three Hamilton County schools are listed as "focus" schools:

  • East Ridge High
  • Hixson Middle
  • Red Bank High

Other are schools on the "focus" list are

  • Athens Middle
  • North City Elementary (Athens)
  • Westside Elementary (Athens)
  • Parkview Elementary (Bradley County)
  • Taylor Elementary (Bradley County)
  • E.L. Ross Elementary (Cleveland)
  • North Elementary (Grundy County)
  • Mountain View Elementary (McMinn County)
  • Sequatchie County High School

To see a full list of Focus and Priority Schools visit:  

To see district-level Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program scores, visit:

To see value-added growth scores for districts and schools, visit: