A WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY remains in effect from 6 pm EST /5 pm CST/ this evening to 4 am EST /3 am CST/ Saturday for Bledsoe, Sequatchie, Marion, Grundy, Van Buren, and Jackson County in NE AL.

Colder air will be moving in for this weekend and will stick around all of next week.  Rain showers will move out and a little bit of sleet mixed with some light snow will fall tonight.  The best chance for any accumulation of ice or snow will be west of Chattanooga.  Amounts will be light. But there could be a few slick spots in the Cumberland plateau.  So be careful driving tonight.

On Saturday we will see some break in the cloud cover.  Winds will continue out of the northwest at 10-15 mph and will be gusty.  Highs will be in the mid 30's, but it will feel colder.  Lows Saturday night and Sunday morning will be near 20, with a north wind.  Sunday will be partly cloudy and cold with highs in the upper 30's.

Next week will start off mostly sunny with highs a bit warmer and in the mid 40's.  Another front will move by on Tuesday and we could see some scattered snow showers.  Highs will be in the low 30's. Wednesday will be very cold with highs in the upper 20's and lows in the mid teens.

Thursday and Friday will be sunny and continue well below normal.

For additional weather updates please follow @WRCBWeather on Twitter and download the WRCBWeather App for the newest information. - Paul Barys

FRIDAY

  • 12PM...Cooler, with Rain, 43
  • 5PM...Wintry Mix, 30

SATURDAY

  • 8 AM ... Mostly Cloudy, 29
  • NOON ... Mostly Cloudy, 32
  • 5 PM ... Partly Cloudy, 34