You may want to take a closer look at your list of Facebook friends.
How well do you know that guy or girl from 1st grade?
I pose that question after hearing a story from Missouri where a woman appears to have stolen pictures from a Facebook friend and used them to extort money from boyfriends.
The victim, Ashley Renee says a stranger contacted her to tell her that her baby's pictures were being sent to men by one of her friends, asking for money.
The woman said the photos were sent to her boyfriend from one of his old girlfriends who happens to be friends with Renee.
Ashley Renee, that is how her name is displayed on her Facebook account, posted photos to update her family and friends of the progress her baby was making after multiple heart surgeries.
She told a reporter she had no idea it was happening until she got the message from an apparent friend of a friend who saw the pictures and started investigating.
Renee said the Facebook friend was an acquaintance in high school and said she never dreamed she would do something like this.
Renee posted screenshots of text messages sent from the woman that included over a dozen photos of her baby.
The woman used the photos in the text messages to a former boyfriend, describing surgeries and progress "her" daughter was showing.
She also told the ex-boyfriend he was the dad and did he want to come by and see her or would he prefer she stop by his house after work.
This kind of scam is possible whenever someone posts anything to their Facebook timeline.
If it is shared with friends, any of those friends can see the post and download the photographs to their own computer, which is what appears to have happened.
Facebook users can 'lock down' their account by changing Facebook's default settings on who each post is shared with.
By default, every post is shared publicly which means anyone on or off Facebook can see it.
You can change settings of each individual post by clicking on the down arrow next to the text box of the post.
It can be changed to share with only friends or friends of friends. You can also choose to share it with a group or list of friends, or share it with certain people or share with everyone 'except' certain people.
If the post is shared with friends though, any of those friends can download the photos. Renee said she thought the Facebook friend was an 'innocent person' and 'didn't think anyone like that would ever do this to her'.
That goes to show it's important to know who your Facebook friends really are. We all have accepted friend requests from people we once knew as kids but who we don't know now at all. While you can lock down who you share posts with, it is up to you to decide who you want to be friends with.