The Chattanooga-built Volkswagen Passat made the top group of cars to be a 2017 Top Safety Pick+ by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Six Volkswagen models (in various configurations) earned the IIHS safety pick rating - the 2017 VW Jetta, Golf and Passat. 

Twenty-one cars, which also feature standard front crash prevention system with automatic braking capabilities like the Passat include:

  • Acura MDX and RLX
  • Audi A3, A4, and Q7
  • Genesis G80 and G90
  • Lexus ES and RX
  • Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class
  • Toyota Avalon, Corolla, Prius, RAV4 and Yaris iA
  • Volkswagen Passat
  • Volvo S60, S90, V60, XC60 and XC90

The IIHS says that automakers have voluntarily committed to making autobrake a standard feature on all models by 2022.

But only seven 2017 models earned top headlight rating, a new area of focus for the IIHS. Those are:

  • Chevrolet Volt
  • Honda Ridgeline
  • Hyundai Elantra
  • Hyundai Santa Fe
  • Subaru Legacy
  • Toyota Prius v
  • Volvo XC60