(GoMocs.com) -- The 24th-ranked University of Tennessee at Chattanooga wrestling team posted a 41-5 win over VMI in Southern Conference action at Maclellan Gym tonight.  The Mocs scored bonus points in seven of their nine wins at the Candlelight Dinner Match.

The evening started at 149, with freshman Dylanger Potter putting UTC up 6-0 with a second period pin.  VMI's only win was next 157 when No. 18 Neal Richards scored a technical fall against sophomore Trey Watson. 

The Mocs then ran off three straight major decisions by junior Justin Lampe (165), senior Sean Mappes(174) and junior Bryce Carr (184).  The highlight of the night came at 197 when fifth-year senior Clay Dent pinned Taylor Thomas just 31 seconds into the match. 

Dent took down Thomas who quickly got back to his feet and tried to escape.  Dent put him back on the mat and stuck him for his second pin of the year. 

"It is great to see Clay being rewarded for all of his hard work," stated head coach Heath Eslinger.  "Guys just don't stick around like he has, but we have given him the keys and he is driving it."

Junior Jared Johnson lived up to his No. 11 ranking with a tech fall at heavyweight.  He was in control throughout the match and won 16-0 early in the second period. 

Sophomore Alonzo Allen bounced back from a season opening loss to score a great win over Dalton Henderson at 125.  Allen posted five takedowns in the 12-5 win.

"That was a big win for 'Zo," added Eslinger.  "He lost to him twice last year, so it was great to see him come out and be aggressive from the start." 

Sophomore Chris Debien had a 3-2 decision over Hunter Starner at 133 and sophomore Roman Boylenclosed out the night with a pin at 141. 

The Mocs moved to 2-0 on the year and 1-0 in SoCon action.  VMI drops to 0-2 overall after losing its SoCon opener tonight.  Up next for Chattanooga is Sunday's trip to No. 6 Virginia Tech.  Match time against the Hokies is 1:00 p.m. in Blacksburg, Va.

No. 24 Chattanooga 41 – VMI 5
149: Dylanger Potter (UTC) – Fall 4:09 - Stevan Smith (VMI) – UTC 6-05
157: No. 18 Neal Richards (VMI) – Tech. Fall 20-4 (3:11) - Trey Watson (UTC) – UTC 6-5
165: Justin Lampe (UTC) – MD 16-4 - Cade Kiely (VMI) – UTC 10-5
174: Sean Mappes (UTC) – MD 13-5 - Shabaka Johns (VMI) – 14-5
184: Bryce Carr (UTC) – MD 11-3 - Christopher Beck (VMI) – 18-5
197: Clay Dent (UTC) – Fall 0:31 - Taylor Thomas (VMI) – 24-5
285: No. 11 Jared Johnson (UTC) – Tech. Fall 16-0 (4:04) - Sam Bouis (VMI) – UTC 29-5
125: Alonzo Allen (UTC) – Dec. 12-5 - Dalton Henderson (VMI) – UTC 32-5
133: Chris Debien (UTC) – Dec. 3-2 - Hunter Starner (VMI) – UTC 35-5
141: Roman Boylen (UTC) – Fall 4:58 - Darren Ostrander (VMI) – UTC 41-5