Burn ban in effect for 5 Georgia counties - WRCBtv.com | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Burn ban in effect for 5 Georgia counties

Posted: Updated:

ATLANTA (AP) - Burn bans are in effect in five Metro Atlanta counties.

Local news organizations report that people in Hall, Forsyth, Fayette, Clayton and Gwinnett counties will not be allowed to burn items due in part to an ongoing drought.

Officials say they're worried about a home catching fire under dry conditions and are asking people to take yard debris to recycling centers instead of burning them.

Fayette County Fire Marshal Jeff Felmet says an acre burned last week after a campfire was abandoned before being properly extinguished.

Officials haven't specified when the burn ban would end.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly