The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency has announced this year's permit winners in the 8th state elk hunt.

For the 2016 hunt, hunters will have the option to hunt in an expanded region on either the North Cumberland WMA, or with permission on private lands within Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Morgan, and Scott counties.

Also new for this year, the Tennessee Fish and Wildlife Commission approved the addition of an archery only elk hunt which will be held Oct. 3-7.  Selected for the archery only hunt were: 

  • Dennis C. Edwards (Brentwood)
  • Travis L. Brown (Telford)
  • William Scott Taylor (Murfreesboro)
  • Donald Alvin Jackson (Cleveland)
  • James A. Millwood (Chattanooga)

The selections for the regular hunt set for Oct. 17-21 were: 

  • Kevin Hart (Yuma)
  • Austin L. Burks (Waynesboro)
  • Timothy C. Copeland (Crossville)
  • Bryan C. White (Harrison)

The fifth permit for the elk hunt was presented to a non-governmental organizational, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Foundation. 

That permit was auctioned and Wade Roberts (Leoma), who was the high bidder at $9,000. Those fund-raising proceeds from the auctioned tag are designated for the elk restoration program.  

The youth tag permit winner is Jordan Redmond (Oakdale). This will be the fifth year for the tag, which is designated for youth ages 13-16.

TWRA is also interested in hearing from landowners within Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Morgan, and Scott counties who have elk on their property and are interested in allowing permitted hunters to hunt.  This will allow hunters and interested landowners to make contact.  

For more information, contact TWRA Elk Program Coordinator Brad Miller at 423-566-8557 or