CROSSVILLE, Tenn. --- The participants in Tennessee’s 2016 elk hunt were announced at the August meeting of the Tennessee Fish and Wildlife Commission which concluded Friday. The TFWC was also presented a preview of next year’s 2016-17 proposed commercial fishing regulations, and update on recommendations for cervid deer carcass importations as they pertain to states with chronic wasting disease (CWD).

Tennessee began its elk hunt in 2009 with the participants selected from a computer draw. At its May meeting, the TFWC approved the addition of an archery only elk hunt which will be held Oct. 3-7.

Selected for the archery only hunt were Dennis C. Edwards (Brentwood), Travis L. Brown (Telford), William Scott Taylor (Murfreesboro), Donald Alvin Jackson (Cleveland), and James A. Millwood (Chattanooga).

The selections for the regular hunt set for Oct. 17-21 were Kevin Hart (Yuma), Austin L. Burks (Waynesboro), Timothy C. Copeland (Crossville), and Bryan C. White (Harrison).

The fifth permit for the elk hunt was presented to a non-governmental organizational, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Foundation. The permit was auctioned and Wade Roberts (Leoma) was the high bidder at $9,000. Fund-raising proceeds from the auctioned tag are designated for the elk restoration program.

The youth tag permit winner is Jordan Redmond (Oakdale). This will be the fifth year for the tag which is designated for youth ages 13-16.

The elk hunt permits are valid on elk hunting zones at North Cumberland Wildlife Management Area. Additionally, established beginning for this year, the permits will be valid on private lands within Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Morgan, and Scott counties.