Current and former Vols shine on Day 2 of U.S. trials - WRCBtv.com | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Current and former Vols shine on Day 2 of U.S. trials

Posted: Updated:

(UTsports.com) EUGENE, Ore. -- Tennessee stars Christian Coleman and Jake Blankenship shined, VFL Tianna Bartoletta made Team USA in the women's long jump and several VFLs advanced on Saturday's Day 2 of the 2016 U.S. Olympic Track & Field Team Trials at Hayward Field.

Coleman ran an incredible 9.96 (+2.4) in the men's 100-meter first round, good for the second fastest-time of the day and a spot in Sunday's semifinals at 4:19 p.m. PT/7:19 p.m. ET. In his return to the track where he earned NCAA silver medals in the 100 meters and 200 meters less than a month ago, Coleman took first place in a loaded second heat that featured professionals Tyson Gay, Remontay McClain andDentarius Locke. Gay, McClain and Locke also advanced to the semifinal. VFL Justin Gatlin (Nike) also advanced to the 100-meter semifinals, running the seventh-best time of 10.03 (+1.8) to take the second heat.

Blankenship tied for first place in the men's pole vault qualifying, clearing 5.55 meters (18-2.50). Blankenship, who won the NCAA men's outdoor pole vault title last month at Hayward Field, will compete against 11 others in the final on Monday, July 4, at 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET. The top three finishers in the final will earn a spot on Team USA.

VFL Tianna Bartoletta earned a spot on Team USA in the women's long jump. Bartoletta, competing for Nike, had the second-best distance in Saturday's final at 7.02 meters (23-0.50), clearing that distance on her first try. She also competed in the women's 100-meter first round and advanced to the semifinals with the No. 8 time of 11.03 (+0.8).

In the women's 800-meter semifinals, VFL Phoebe Wright (Nike) ran the eighth-fastest time of 2:01.39 to advance to Monday's final at 5:42 p.m. PT/8:42 p.m. ET. VFL Chanelle Price (Nike) clocked the 11th-best time at 2:01.94.

VFL DeeDee Trotter finished 16th in the women's 400-meter semifinals with a time of 54.01. After the race, she took to social media to announce that she was retiring from track and field after a distinguished career. Trotter earned seven medals for the U.S., including a pair of Olympic golds in the 4x400 (2004 Athens, 2012 London) and an Olympic bronze in the 400 meters (2012 London).

Chelsea Blaase took 16th place in the women's 10,000 meters, clocking in at 34:10.15. VFL Liz Costello, running for New Balance/NB Boston, finished sixth in 32:31.81.

Three Tennessee stars will be in action on Sunday, July 3. Coleman and Gatlin will run in the men's 100-meter semifinals at 4:19 p.m. PT/7:19 p.m. ET with the finals shortly after at 5:53 p.m. PT/8:53 p.m. ET. Bartoletta will run in the women's 100-meter semis at 4:02 p.m. PT/7:02 p.m. ET with the final at 5:44 p.m. PT/8:44 p.m. ET.

  • SportsSportsMore>>

  • Heritage to host Ringgold in our FNF3 Game of the Week

    Heritage to host Ringgold in our FNF3 Game of the Week

    Wednesday, August 23 2017 12:00 AM EDT2017-08-23 04:00:41 GMT
    Week two features another cross town rivalry in our Friday Night Football Game of the Week with Heritage hosting Ringgold. Ringgold has won nine straight meetings dating back to when Heritage's first year open in 2008. The Generals had the Tigers on the ropes last year in our Game of the Week but fell in overtime 40-34. We'll hear from both teams leading up to Friday when Ch. 3 Sports Reporter Jill Jelnick will be live at Heritage High School with pre and post game live coverage. ...More
    Week two features another cross town rivalry in our Friday Night Football Game of the Week with Heritage hosting Ringgold. Ringgold has won nine straight meetings dating back to when Heritage's first year open in 2008. The Generals had the Tigers on the ropes last year in our Game of the Week but fell in overtime 40-34. We'll hear from both teams leading up to Friday when Ch. 3 Sports Reporter Jill Jelnick will be live at Heritage High School with pre and post game live coverage. ...More
  • Sold out or not, Vegas will party during Mayweather-McGregor

    Sold out or not, Vegas will party during Mayweather-McGregor

    Tuesday, August 22 2017 10:57 PM EDT2017-08-23 02:57:12 GMT
    The fight between Floyd Mayweather Jr. and Conor McGregor may not have sold out yet, but that won't stop Las Vegas from putting on its party hat.More
    The fight between Floyd Mayweather Jr. and Conor McGregor may not have sold out yet, but that won't stop Las Vegas from putting on its party hat.More
  • UTC to name Mark Wharton as Mocs new Athletic Director

    UTC to name Mark Wharton as Mocs new Athletic Director

    Tuesday, August 22 2017 5:16 PM EDT2017-08-22 21:16:42 GMT
    Mark WhartonMark Wharton

    The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga has hired Mark Wharton as Athletics Director.

    More

    The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga has hired Mark Wharton as Athletics Director.

    More
Powered by Frankly