Moc grapplers drop Campbell in SoCon action - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Moc grapplers drop Campbell in SoCon action

Posted: Updated:

BUIES CREEK, NC  ( -- The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga wrestling team took eight of 10 matches in a 31-12 win at Campbell Saturday.  The Mocs move to 4-1 overall and 2-0 in Southern Conference action, while the Camels drop to 0-6 and 0-1 in league matches. 

UTC scored bonus points in five of its eight wins, including a 19-2 technical fall by freshman Alonzo Allen to open action at 125.  Campbell actually led after two matches thanks to a pin by junior Nathan Kraisser over sophomore Cody Hill at 133.

Chattanooga responded with three straight wins, beginning with a major by junior Michael Pongracz at 141.  Freshman Roman Boylen moved up to 149 and scored a win, followed by freshman Kamaal Shakur's tech fall at 157. 

Paul Duggan pinned freshman Dominic Lampe at 165 to close out Campbell's scoring.  Junior Sean Mappes followed with a major decision at 174.  

The best match of the day came at 184.  Senior John Lampe and Camel junior Ville Heino split two very close matches two years ago.  This one was more of the same with Lampe carrying a 3-1 lead into the final period.  After choosing down, Heino escaped and took the lead with a takedown with just under a minute left.  Lampe escaped to tie at 4-4, and won the match with a takedown of his own with 13 second on the clock. 

That gave the Mocs a 24-12 lead and all but put it out of reach.  Chattanooga closed out the dual with a major decision by No. 18 Scottie Boykin at 197 and a win from 12
th-ranked Jared Johnson at heavyweight. 

The Mocs return home on Friday, Dec. 18, when they host undefeated and 17th-ranked Ohio in Maclellan Gym.  Match time is set for 6:00 p.m. (E.S.T.) with live scoring and a SoConDN broadcast available on

Chattanooga 31 – Campbell 12
125: Alonzo Allen (UTC) – TF 19-2 (5:00) - Daniel Ariola (Campbell) – UTC 5-0
133: Nathan Kraisser (Campbell) – Fall 4:26) - Cody Hill (UTC) – Campbell 6-5
141: Michael Pongracz (UTC) – MD 8-0 - Lucas Stewart (Campbell) – UTC 9-6
149: Roman Boylen (UTC) – Dec. 15-8 - Zane Knight (Campbell) – UTC 12-6
157: Kamaal Shakur (UTC) – TF 21-6 (7:00) - Quentin Perez (Campbell) – UTC 17-6
165: Paul Duggan (Campbell) – Fall 0:48) - Dominic Lampe (UTC) – UTC 17-12
174: Sean Mappes (UTC) – MD 15-5 - Matthew Olauson (Campbell) – UTC 21-12
184: John Lampe (UTC) – Dec. 6-4 - Ville Heino (Campbell) – UTC 24-12
197: Scottie Boykin (UTC) – MD 16-6 - Willie Bivens (Campbell) – UTC 28-12
285: Jared Johnson (UTC) – Dec. 5-0 - Jere Heino (Campbell) – UTC 31-12

Powered by Frankly