Tull tabbed SoCon's Male Athlete of Year; a UTC first - WRCBtv.com | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Tull tabbed SoCon's Male Athlete of Year; a UTC first

Posted: Updated:
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC (GoMocs.com)---University of Tennessee at Chattanooga defensive end Davis Tull is the 2015 Southern Conference Male Athlete of the Year, the league office announced Tuesday.  He will be honored as part of the league's annual Honors Dinner on Wednesday night in Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Tull is the first Moc to win the Male Athlete of the Year Award. As a senior, he was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year for the third straight season. Tull also earned first-team All-American honors from both the Sports Network and the Associated Press and was a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award, given to the nation's top defensive player in FCS.

In the fall, he led the conference with 10.5 sacks and finished his career as the league's all-time leader with 37.0. Tull helped the Mocs win their first outright Southern Conference championship since 1984 and was a part of UTC's team that captured its first-ever win in the FCS Playoffs with a 35-14 victory over Indiana State in December.

Tull took part in numerous community service events, including the Bloodanooga Blood Drive and the Get In The Game Bone Marrow Registry. He also assisted with a local kids clinic at Finley Stadium. A two-time Academic All-American, Tull graduated with a degree in Health & Human Performance in the fall of 2014 and was recently drafted by the New Orleans Saints in the fifth round of the NFL Draft.

The Athlete of the Year Awards are selected annually by the Southern Conference athletics directors and a media member representing each conference school. The award recognizes athletic achievement, academic performance and civic involvement.

Prior to 1990-91, the award was selected solely by members of the Southern Conference Sports Media Association. Beginning in 1991-92, the men's award was named after the late Bob Waters, who was Western Carolina's head football coach from 1969-88.

Powered by Frankly