(NBC News) - If you have an iPhone or an Android, chances are that every single move you make is being tracked, location by location, including the exact times you were there. And if it's an Android, all that tracking data is being sent straight to Google.
Apple told NBC News they use the information to provide personalized services and that "it's kept solely on your device and won't be sent to apple without your consent." Google, the maker of Android, told NBC News that users have the ability to "enable or disable location capabilities both on their Android device and Google Account."
To shut off tracking on an iPhone, follow these step-by-step instructions: