6 senators voting against Insure TN have state insurance - WRCBtv.com | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

UPDATE: Which TN lawmakers have state-sponsored insurance?

Posted: Updated:
The Tennessee State Capitol in Nashville. AP photo The Tennessee State Capitol in Nashville. AP photo

By ERIK SCHELZIG, Associated Press

NASHVILLE, TN (AP) - Six of the seven senators who voted to kill Gov. Bill Haslam's proposal to extend health coverage to 280,000 low-income Tennesseans are enrolled in state government-subsidized health insurance.

According to records obtained by The Associated Press under state open records laws, the state-insured senators include Sen. Todd Gardenhire, a Chattanooga Republican who angrily chided a Democratic colleague during committee debates for suggesting that lawmakers receiving government subsidies for their insurance should be more receptive the governor's proposal to extend coverage to poor Tennesseans.

Gardenhire stressed during the debate that he had private insurance through his private employer Morgan Stanley. He acknowledged on Thursday that he is enrolled in state insurance, but said he doesn't use it because his coverage through his employer is far superior.

Among Tennessee 132 state lawmakers, 116 carry state health coverage, including 88 of 99 House members and 28 of 33 Senate members.

Twenty-three are Democrats and 93 are Republicans. Supporters of Republican Gov. Bill Haslam's failed proposal to extend coverage to 280,000 low-income Tennesseans argued that lawmakers with state coverage should have been more sympathetic to the plan.

A list of state lawmakers enrolled in the state health plan:


  • Rep. Raumesh Akbari, D-Memphis
  • Rep. David Alexander, R-Winchester
  • Rep. Joe Armstrong, D-Knoxville
  • Rep. Bill Beck, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Kevin Brooks, R-Cleveland
  • Rep. Harry Brooks, R-Knoxville
  • Rep. Sheila Butt, R-Columbia
  • Rep. Karen Camper, D-Memphis
  • Rep. Dale Carr, R-Sevierville
  • Rep. Mike Carter, R-Chattanooga
  • Rep. Glen Casada, R-Franklin
  • Rep. John Ray Clemmons, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Jim Coley, R-Memphis
  • Rep. Barbara Cooper, R-Memphis
  • Rep. Martin Daniel, R-Knoxville
  • Rep. John Deberry, D-Memphis
  • Rep. Barry Doss, R-Leoma
  • Rep. Kevin Dunlap, D-McMinnville
  • Rep. Bill Dunn, R-Knoxville
  • Rep. Jeremy Durham, R-Franklin
  • Rep. Jimmy Eldridge, R-Jackson
  • Rep. Jeremy Faison, R-Cosby
  • Rep. Andrew Farmer, R-Sevierville
  • Rep. Joanne Favors, D-Chattanooga
  • Rep. Craig Fitzhugh, D-Ripley
  • Rep. John Forgety, R-Athens
  • Rep. Tilman Goins, R-Morristown
  • Rep. Curtis Halford, R-Dyer
  • Rep. GA Hardaway, R-Memphis
  • Rep. Mike Harrison, R-Rogersville
  • Rep. Beth Harwell, R-Nashville
  • Rep. David Hawk, R-Greeneville
  • Rep. Ryan Haynes, R-Knoxville
  • Rep. Patsy Hazlewood, R-Chattanooga
  • Rep. Matthew Hill, R-Jonesborough
  • Rep. Timothy Hill, R-Blountville
  • Rep. John Holsclaw, R-Johnson City
  • Rep. Andy Holt, R-Dresden
  • Rep. Dan Howell, R-Cleveland
  • Rep. Curtis Johnson, R-Clarksville
  • Rep. Sherry Jones, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Roger Kane, R-Knoxville
  • Rep. Kelly Keisling, R-Byrdstown
  • Rep. Sami Kumar, R-Springfield
  • Rep. William Lamberth, R-Gallatin
  • Rep. Mary Littleton, R-Dickson
  • Rep. Ronald Lollar, R-Bartlett
  • Rep. Harold Love, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Jon Lundberg, R-Bristol
  • Rep. Susan Lynn, R-Mt. Juliet
  • Rep. Pat Marsh, R-Shelbyville
  • Rep. Judd Matheny, R-Tullahoma
  • Rep. Jimmy Matlock, R-Lenoir City
  • Rep. Gerald McCormick, R-Chattanooga
  • Rep. Steve McDaniel, R-Parkers Crossroads
  • Rep. Steve McManus, R-Memphis
  • Rep. Larry Miller, D-Memphis
  • Rep. Bo Mitchell, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Joe Pitts, D-Clarksville
  • Rep. Mark Pody, R-Lebanon
  • Rep. Jason Powell, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Dennis Powers, R-Jacksboro
  • Rep. Bob Ramsey, R-Maryville
  • Rep. Jay Reedy, R-Erin
  • Rep. Courtney Rogers, R-Goodlettsville
  • Rep. Bill Sanderson, R-Kenton
  • Rep. Charles Sargent, R-Franklin
  • Rep. Cameron Sexton, R-Crossville
  • Rep. Jerry Sexton, R-Morristown
  • Rep. Johnny Shaw, R-Bolivar
  • Rep. David Shepard, D-Dickson
  • Rep. Eddie Smith, R-Knoxville
  • Rep. Mike Sparks, R-Smyrna
  • Rep. Billy Spivey, R-Lewisburg
  • Rep. Mike Stewart, D-Nashville
  • Rep. Art Swann, R-Maryville
  • Rep. Curry Todd, R-Collierville
  • Rep. Joe Towns, D-Memphis
  • Rep. Ron Travis, R-Dayton
  • Rep. James "Micah" Van Huss, R-Jonesborough
  • Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver, R-Lancaster
  • Rep. Mark White, R-Memphis
  • Rep. Gloria White, R-Murfreesboro
  • Rep. Leigh Wilburn, R-Somerville
  • Rep. Ryan Williams, R-Cookeville
  • Rep. John Windle, D-Livingston
  • Rep. Tim Wirgau, R-Buchanan
  • Rep. Rick Womick, R-Murfreesboro


  • Sen. Paul Bailey, R-Sparta
  • Sen. Mae Beavers, R-Mt. Juliet
  • Sen. Mike Bell, R-Riceville
  • Sen. Rusty Crowe, R-Johnson City
  • Sen. Steven Dickerson, R-Nashville
  • Sen. Todd Gardenhire, R-Chattanooga
  • Sen. Mark Green, R-Clarksville
  • Sen. Ferrell Haile, R-Gallatin
  • Sen. Thelma Harper, D-Nashville
  • Sen. Joey Hensley, R-Hohenwald
  • Sen. Ed Jackson, R-Jackson
  • Sen. Jack Johnson, R-Franklin
  • Sen. Brian Kelsey, R-Germantown
  • Sen. Sara Kyle, D-Memphis
  • Sen. Becky Duncan Massey, R-Knoxville
  • Sen. Randy McNally, R-Oak Ridge
  • Sen. Frank Niceley, R-Strawberry Plains
  • Sen. Mark Norris, R-Collierville
  • Sen. Doug Overbey, R-Maryville
  • Sen. Ron Ramsey, R-Blountville
  • Sen. Kerry Roberts, R-Springfield
  • Sen. Steve Southerland, R-Morristown
  • Sen. John Stevens, R-Huntingdon
  • Sen. Reginald Tate, D-Memphis
  • Sen. Jim Tracy, R-Shelbyville
  • Sen. Bo Watson, R-Chattanooga
  • Sen. Ken Yager, R-Kingston
  • Sen. Jeff Yarbro, D-Nashville


Source: State of Tennessee

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly