Heisman finalists headline College Football Awards - WRCBtv.com | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Heisman finalists headline College Football Awards

Posted: Updated:
LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) - Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper are up for three of the 10 awards that will be handed out during Thursday night's College Football Awards Show at Disney.
Mariota is a finalist for both the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award and the Maxwell Award as the nation's outstanding collegiate player. He's also the front-runner to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.
The O'Brien Award has been a Heisman predictor recently, with the previous four recipients going on to win the Heisman.
Cooper, one of three Heisman finalists along with Mariota and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon, is trying to become the first Alabama player to win the Biletnikoff Award, given to the nation's top receiver.

Powered by Frankly