More than 16,000,000 Americans served in the armed forces during World War II and now 464 of those veterans have been singled out to receive the Medal of Honor stamp.

One of those veterans being honored is Chattanooga's own Charles H. Coolidge.

Nearly half died as a result of their heroic actions to receive the honor, however only six of those 464 veterans are alive today.

The Postal Service is issuing the stamps depicting the Medals of Honor and including photographs of the living recipients on the stamp sheet as an appropriate way to recognize the living while still paying respect to all 464 recipients whose names are included in the Medal of Honor World War II Forever stamp prestige folio.

The first-day-of-issue dedication ceremony for the World War II Medal of Honor Forever stamps is Monday, November 11 at the National World War II Memorial in Washington, D.C.

Pictured (clockwise from top left) are Charles H. Coolidge of Chattanooga, TN; Francis S. Currey of Selkirk, NY; Walter D. Ehlers of Buena Park, CA; John D. Hawk of Bremerton, WA; Daniel K. Inouye of Honolulu, HI; Robert D. Maxwell of Bend, OR; Vernon McGarity of Memphis, TN; Nicholas Oresko of Creskill, NJ; Wilburn K. Ross of Dupont, WA; and George T. Sakato of Denver, CO, all of whom served with the U.S. Army. Arthur J. Jackson of Boise, ID; and Hershel W. Williams of Ona, WV; served with the U.S. Marine Corps.

Sadly, Senator Daniel K. Inouye and Vernon McGarity died before the stamps could be issued, as did Nicholas Oresko, who died after the stamps were printed.

Their photographs are still included, as they remain among the last representatives of a remarkable group whose courage and devotion we honor with this issuance.