Former Secretary of State and huge college football fan Condoleezza Rice has been named to the College Football Playoff selection committee in 2014 along with 12 others.

The 13 members of the committee were officially announced Wednesday although Rice's name along with some others was already surfacing in various reports.

This is the first committee for the new College Football Playoff system that will replace the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) in 2014.

Their job will be to choose four teams to play in the national semifinals and seed them accordingly.

The winners of these two games will eventually play for the National Championship.

Other familiar names on the committee include former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne, former quarterback Archie Manning, Wisconsin Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, USC Athletic Director Pat Haden, and former Stanford and Notre Dame head coach Tyrone Willingham.