Three educators named teachers of the year - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Three educators named teachers of the year

Posted: Updated:

HAMILTON COUNTY, TN (WRCB) -- Three Hamilton County teachers were honored as teachers of the year.

Phyllis Copeland from Barger Academy of Fine Arts, Lorrie Holland from Loftis Middle School and Neshawn Calloway from Center for Creative Arts were named 2013 HCDE Teachers of the Year. 

Copeland was honored in the K-4 division. She has been a teacher for 38 years and has worked for the past eight years in Tennessee.

Holland was honored in the 5-8 division. She's been a teacher for 25 years, all of which have been in Tennessee.

Calloway was honored in the 9-12 division. She has been a teacher for 17 years. She's taught for 12 years in Tennessee.

"It is very special when we honor outstanding teachers for their dedication to our students.  The greatest asset any school system can have is outstanding teachers," said Stacey Roddy, Director of Elementary Math & Science, who coordinates the awards.

The teachers and their principals will be recognized at a special luncheon at the Broad Street Grill at The Chattanoogan Hotel on Friday, March 15.

Powered by WorldNow
Can't find what you're looking for?

900 Whitehall Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
(423) 267-5412

WRCB Jobs EEO | FCC Public Files

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WRCB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.