Cleveland clinches Division I traditional wrestling title - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Cleveland clinches Division I traditional wrestling title

FRANKLIN, Tenn. (WRCB) -- Two weeks after winning the state duals championship, Cleveland will complete the state title sweep at the Division I Traditional Wrestling Championships.

The Blue Raiders advanced four grapplers to Saturday night's championship finals, and kept four more alive in the consolation brackets to lock up the team championship. Cleveland's 195.50 team points through Friday's action are an insurmountable 76.5 more than second-place Beech, who advanced two finalists.

Cleveland's Chris Debien (112), Austin Oliver (126), Hayden Hamilton (132) and Ethan West (182) will try to claim individual titles Saturday, giving the Blue Raiders more finalists than anyone else in Division I.

Soddy-Daisy is third in the team standings with 112 points. The Trojans have two wrestlers alive in the championship hunt: Jacob Stevens at 120 pounds and Blaike Henry at 182.

Walker Valley (6th with 93 points) and Bradley Central (8th with 72.5 points) are also in the top ten and have two finalists each. Caleb Langford (138) and Billy Raulston (195) will represent the Mustangs in the finals, while Tirobio Navarro (106) and Robbie Clark (160) have chances at titles for the Bears.

Notre Dame's Packy Mullin will wrestle Cleveland's Oliver for the 126-pound title, and Central's Larry Dickerson will Franklin's Alex Bennett in the finals at 152 pounds.

McCallie and Baylor are in a battle for third in Division II behind runaway leaders Christian Brothers and Father Ryan.

The two local rivals are separated by just 3.5 points and each have five wrestlers in the finals.

They'll go head-to-head in two matches: Baylor's Brandon Brunner will face McCallie's Adam Connell at 132 pounds, and Baylor's Houston Clements will wrestler McCallie's Nathan Hoodenpyle in the 182-pound championship.

Baylor's other finalists are Michael Murphy (106), Bryson Popp (160) and Ryan Parker (170). McCallie will also be represented in the finals by James Westbrooks (113), Alex Elsea and Casey Cooke (285).

Saturday's championship matches are scheduled for 6 p.m. ET at the Williamson County Agricultural Expo Center. They will be streamed live online at

TSSAA Division I Traditional Championship
1. Cleveland 195.50
2. Beech 119.00
3. Soddy Daisy 112.00
4. Ravenwood 106.00
5. Wilson Central 99.50
6. Walker Valley 93.00
7. Clarksville 74.50
8. Bradley Central 72.50
9. Heritage 66.00
10. Pigeon Forge 58.00

TSSAA Division II Traditional Championship
1. Christian Brothers 218.50
2. Father Ryan 188.00
3. McCallie 165.50
4. Baylor 162.00
5. Montgomery Bell Academy 136.50
6. Brentwood Academy 93.50
7. St. Benedict 90.00
8. Battle Ground Academy 49.50
9. Memphis University School 32.00
10. Pope John Paul 29.00

Powered by Frankly