Mocs' Steven Fox on Ben Hogan Award watch list - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Mocs' Steven Fox on Ben Hogan Award watch list

Posted: Updated:

CHATTANOOGA (UTC) -- Chattanooga senior Steven Fox is one of 27 student-athletes named to the Ben Hogan Award Watch List for 2013.

Fox follows in the footsteps of 2012 PING First Team All-American Stephan Jaeger, who made the list a year ago. The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period.

Fox is the 19th-ranked player in the world according the R&A World Amateur Rankings. Out of the top 20, 13 are student-athletes playing collegiate golf.

It has been quite a whirlwind tour for the 2012 United States Amateur Champion. He has represented the United States in two amateur competitions and made his PGA Tour debut last weekend at the Farmers Insurance Open at historic Torrey Pines Golf Club outside San Diego, Calif.

Fox and national teammates Chris Williams (Washington) and Justin Thomas (Alabama) captured the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championship in Turkey in October. Williams and Fox combined with ladies Erynne Lee (UCLA) and Lindy Duncan (Duke) to finish third at the Copa de las Americas in January at Doral Golf Resort and Spa.

He is also one of the leaders of the UTC golf team. Fox is second only to junior Chris Robb (71.73) with a 72.33 stroke average. His international resume along with solid collegiate play in the fall made him an easy selection for the watch list.

"It has been quite a year for Steven," said Head Coach Mark Guhne. "With a spectacular spring, he has a real shot at winning this award, but that is too far to look ahead. He'll do what he does best, live in the moment. It's what allowed him to make his comeback at the U.S. Amateur and serves him well today.

"He has a long way to go to get there," Guhne continued. "We have a full spring schedule and postseason, and he has a little tournament in April he's entered at Augusta National. He'll play it out and see where we end up."

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011) and Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012).

Fox and sophomore Liam Johnston are in Sea Island, Ga., this weekend for the Jones Cup Invitational. The 54-hole event is played Friday through Sunday, February 1-3, at Ocean Forest Golf Club.

Information provided by UTC Sports Media Relations and

Powered by WorldNow
Can't find what you're looking for?

900 Whitehall Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
(423) 267-5412

WRCB Jobs EEO | FCC Public Files

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WRCB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.