Gurley, Yeldon lead SEC all-freshman selections - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Gurley, Yeldon lead SEC all-freshman selections

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (SEC/WRCB) -- Twelve Southeastern Conference football squads are represented on the 13th annual SEC Coaches' All-Freshman Team, it was announced on Thursday.

SEC Champion Alabama, Florida and Texas A&M led the way with four selections each, while Arkansas and South Carolina placed three on the team. Georgia, LSU and Ole Miss each had two.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was also chosen SEC Offensive Player of the Year earlier this week, as well as SEC Freshman of the Year and first team All-SEC.

Georgia running back Todd Gurley, who was named to the All-SEC second team by league coaches, was joined on the freshman team by offensive lineman John Theus.

Safety LaDarrell McNeil was Tennessee's lone representative.

Offensive lineman Ryan Kelly, running back T.J. Yeldon, wide receiver Amari Cooper and defensive lineman D.J. Pettaway made up Alabama's all-freshman contingent.

(*-Ties) (Coaches could not vote for their own players) 

TE - Jerell Adams, South Carolina
OL - John Theus, Georgia
OL - D.J. Humphries, Florida
OL - Brandon Shell, South Carolina
OL - Vadal Alexander, LSU
C - Ryan Kelly, Alabama
WR - Amari Cooper, Alabama

WR - Mike Evans, Texas A&M
QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB - T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

AP - Trey Williams, Texas A&M 

DL - Dante Fowler, Florida
DL - Jonathan Bullard, Florida
DL - Issac Gross, Ole Miss
DL - D.J. Pettway, Alabama
LB - Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
LB - Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
LB - *A.J. Turner, Arkansas
LB - *Otha Peters, Arkansas
LB - *Antonio Morrison, Florida
DB - Jalen Collins, LSU
DB - T.J. Gurley, South Carolina
DB - Rohan Gaines, Arkansas
DB - LaDarrell McNeil, Tennessee

PK - Andrew Baggett, Missouri
P - Landon Foster, Kentucky
RS – Trey Williams, Texas A&M

Powered by Frankly