Alabama leads the way on coaches' All-SEC rosters - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Alabama leads the way on coaches' All-SEC rosters

Posted: Updated:

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (SEC) -- Southeastern Conference champion Alabama had the most representatives on the 2012 All-SEC Coaches' Football Team, which the league office released on Tuesday.

Alabama had eight total members, including six on the first team. Florida was close behind with seven, while Eastern Division Champion Georgia and Tennessee had six each.

Ten of the 14 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Alabama led with six, while Florida had five and Texas A&M with four.

Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and Todd Gurley (Georgia) were the only freshmen to make the squad, with Manziel the only newcomer to earn a spot on the first team.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Offensive lineman Chance Warmack, D.J. Fluker and Barrett Jones joined running back Eddie Lacy, linebacker C.J. Mosley and defensive back Dee Milliner to make up the Tide's first-team honorees.

Quarterback A.J. McCarron and defensive back Robert Lester were both second team selections.

Jarvis Jones, who was named the SEC defensive player of the year by league media Monday, is the only Georgia player on the first team roster.

Gurley was joined on the second team by offensive lineman Chris Burnette, linebacker Alec Ogeltree, defensive lineman John Jenkins and defensive back Bacarri Rambo.

Tennessee wideout Cordarrelle Patterson was on both the first and the second team roster after his standout year as a do-it-all threat. The junior was an all-purpose selection on the first team, and also made the second team roster as a return specialist.

Tight end Mychal Rivera was the Vols' only other first-teamer, while linebacker A.J. Johnson, offensive lineman Dallas Thomas and receiver Justin Hunter made the second team. 

The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.

(*-Ties) (Coaches could not vote for their own players)


TE - Mychal Rivera, Tennessee

OL - Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
OL - Chance Warmack, Alabama
OL - D.J. Fluker, Alabama

OL - Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
C - Barrett Jones, Alabama
WR - Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas
WR - Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
QB - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB - Mike Gillislee, Florida
RB - Eddie Lacy, Alabama
AP - Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee

DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DL - Sam Montgomery, LSU
DL - Damontre Moore, Texas A&M
DL - Sharrif Floyd, Florida
LB - Jarvis Jones, Georgia
LB - C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB - Kevin Minter, LSU 
DB - Dee Milliner, Alabama
DB - Matt Elam, Florida
DB - Eric Reid, LSU
DB - Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State 

PK – Caleb Sturgis, Florida
P – Kyle Christy, Florida
RS – Ace Sanders, South Carolina


TE - Jordan Reed, Florida
OL - Larry Warford, Kentucky
OL - Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
OL - Chris Burnette, Georgia
OL - Dallas Thomas, Tennessee

C - T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
WR - Ryan Swope, Texas A&M
WR - Justin Hunter, Tennessee
QB - AJ McCarron, Alabama
RB - Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB - Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
AP - Ace Sanders, South Carolina

DL - Barkevious Mingo, LSU
DL - Sheldon Richardson, Missouri
DL - John Jenkins, Georgia
DL - Corey Lemonier, Auburn
LB - A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB - Jon Bostic, Florida
LB - *Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State
LB - *Alec Ogletree, Georgia
DB - D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina
DB - Bacarri Rambo, Georgia
DB - Robert Lester, Alabama

DB - Darius Slay, Mississippi State

PK - Drew Alleman, LSU
P - * Dylan Breeding, Arkansas
P - * Richard Kent, Vanderbilt
RS – Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee

Powered by WorldNow
Can't find what you're looking for?

900 Whitehall Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
(423) 267-5412

WRCB Jobs EEO | FCC Public Files

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WRCB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.