LSU, Bama lead All-SEC preseason coaches rosters - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

LSU, Bama lead All-SEC preseason coaches rosters

Posted: Updated:

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (SEC) – Defending national champion Alabama and defending Southeastern Conference champion LSU each have 11 players on the 2012 Southeastern Conference pre-season Coaches All-SEC rosters, which where released by the league Thursday.

The Tigers have a league-high seven players named to the first-team, three on the second-team and one on the third-team. The Crimson Tide have four players selected to the first-team, four on the second-team and three on the third-team.

Arkansas is third with 10 total players selected, four on the first-team and three on each of the second and third teams.

Georgia had a total of eight players across the three rosters, including two first-teamers in linebacker Jarvis Jones and safety Bacarri Rambo.

Tennessee had five players honored, but receiver Da'Rick Rogers was the Vols' lone first-team selection.

Eleven of the 14 SEC Schools had a representative on the first-team and every school had at least two players named to one of the three units.

There are nine repeat first-teamers from last year's postseason coaches rosters, including Jones, Rambo and Alabama lineman Barrett Jones.

The All-SEC first-team squad had 12 seniors and 16 underclassmen, including 14 juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 17 seniors, 10 juniors and one sophomore. The third-team had 16 seniors, 12 juniors and three sophomores.

The 2012 SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team is listed below:

First-Team Offense
QB Tyler Wilson, Arkansas
RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina
RB Knile Davis, Arkansas
WR Da'Rick Rogers Tennessee
WR *Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas
WR *Ryan Swope, Texas A&M
TE Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn
OL Alex Hurst, LSU
OL Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
OL D.J. Fluker, Alabama
OL Larry Warford, Kentucky
C Barrett Jones, Alabama

Second-Team Offense
QB Aaron Murray, Georgia
RB Eddie Lacy, Alabama
RB Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
WR Justin Hunter, Tennessee

WR *Emory Blake, Auburn
WR *Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU
WR *LaRod King, Kentucky
TE Chris Gragg, Arkansas
OL Alvin Bailey, Arkansas
OL Chance Warmack, Alabama
OL Chris Faulk, LSU
OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
C T.J. Johnsonk, South Carolina

Third-Team Offense
QB A.J. McCarron, Alabama

RB Spencer Ware, LSU
RB Christine Michael, Texas A&M
WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
WR T.J. Moe, Missouri
TE Michael Williams, Alabama
OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
OL Dallas Thomas, Tennessee
OL Xavier Nixon, Florida
OL Elvis Fisher, Missouri
C Travis Swanson, Arkansas


First-Team Defense
DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DL Sam Montgomery, LSU
DL Corey Lemonier, Auburn
DL Barkevious Mingo, LSU
ILB *C.J. Mosley, Alabama
ILB *Nico Johnson, Alabama
OLB Jarvis Jones, Georgia

OLB Sean Porter, Texas A&M
DB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
DB Bacarri Rambo, Georgia
DB Eric Reid, LSU
DB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

Second-Team Defense
DL John Jenkins, Georgia

DL Devin Taylor, South Carolina
DL Jesse Williams, Alabama
DL Sharrif Floyd, Florida
ILB Jon Bostic, Florida
OLB Alonzo Highsmith, Arkansas
OLB DeVonte Holloman, South Carolina
DB Robert Lester, Alabama
DB D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina
DB Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee
DB Matt Elam, Florida

Third-Team Defense
DL Josh Boyd, Mississippi State
DL *Dominique Easley, Florida
DL *Abry Jones, Georgia
DL *Damontre Moore, Texas A&M
DL *Rob Lohr, Vanderbilt
ILB *Alec Ogletree, Georgia

ILB *Daren Bates, Auburn
ILB *Jelani Jenkins, Florida
OLB Zaviar Gooden, Missouri
OLB A.J. Johnson , Tennessee
DB Dee Milliner, Alabama
DB Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss
DB Akeem Auguste, South Carolina
DB *E.J. Gaines, Missouri
DB *Sanders Commings, Georgia


First-Team Specialists
P Brad Wing, LSU
PK Caleb Sturgis, Florida
RS Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
AP Dennis Johnson, Arkansas

Second-Team Specialists
P Steven Clark, Auburn
PK Drew Alleman, LSU
RS Andre Debose, Florida
AP Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

Third-Team Specialists
P *Dylan Breeding, Arkansas
P *Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss
PK Zach Hocker, Arkansas
RS Dustin Harris, Texas A&M
AP Bruce Ellington, South Carolina

Powered by WorldNow
Can't find what you're looking for?

900 Whitehall Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
(423) 267-5412

WRCB Jobs EEO | FCC Public Files

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WRCB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.