Storm victims get income tax filing extension from IRS - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Storm victims get income tax filing extension from IRS

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Victims of severe weather in 10 Tennessee counties have until May 31 instead of April 17 to file their tax returns with the Internal Revenue Service.

According to an IRS news release, taxpayers in the counties also have until May 31 to file for an extension of the deadline and to make a contribution to an IRA for 2011.

The counties are Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton, and Polk.

The IRS also said affected taxpayers may be able to claim a casualty loss for property damage from the storms. The claim can be done on their 2011 or 2012 returns.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow
Can't find what you're looking for?

900 Whitehall Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
(423) 267-5412

WRCB Jobs EEO | FCC Public Files

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WRCB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.