Johnson leads 3 Lady Vols earning SEC postseason honors - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Johnson leads 3 Lady Vols earning SEC postseason honors

Posted: Updated:

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP/WRCB) - Southeastern Conference coaches honored three Tennessee women's basketball as part of the league's postseason awards on Wednesday.

Senior forward Glory Johnson was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year and joined fellow senior Shekinna Stricklen on the All-SEC first-team roster. Stricklen was the 2011 SEC Player of the Year, as well as the league's preseason player of the year this year.

UT's Ariel Massengale was also named to the SEC All-Freshman team.

"Obviously, I am excited for Glory, Shekinna and Ariel," Lady Vol head basketball coach Pat Summitt said in a statement. "They are players we count on to step up and lead our team in each and every game.

"I am particularly proud of Glory and her selection as the SEC Defensive Player of the Year. She has raised her level of play this season on both ends of the floor and has been an anchor for us defensively. Glory is very deserving of this recognition."

This marks Johnson's second appearance on the All-SEC First Team.  The 6-foot-3 leaper was UT's second leading scorer in SEC games at 13.9 ppg while posting 9.7 rpg. 

Stricklen led the Lady Vols in SEC scoring (15.8 ppg) while adding 6.1 rpg.

Massengale averaged 7.7 ppg in both SEC and overall play while grabbing 2.7 rpg (SEC) and dishing out over five assists per contest.

SEC coaches selected Kentucky's A'dia Mathies as women's basketball player of the year, while Arkansas' Tom Collen is the coach of the year.

Georgia also had three players honored by the coaches. Anne Marie Armstrong was a first-team selection, while teammate Jasmine Hassel earned a second-team nod. Erika Ford was also named to the All-Freshman squad.

Mathies is averaging 15.3 points, 5.3 rebounds and 2.8 steals to lead the Wildcats to their first regular-season SEC title in 30 years.

Florida's Deana Allen and Kentucky's Keyla Snowden share 6th woman of the year honors. Auburn's Blanche Alverson is scholar-athlete of the year.

The number two-seeded Lady Vols (21-8, 12-4 SEC) open play in the 2012 SEC Tournament at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn., on Fri., Mar. 2 at 2:30 p.m. CT (SportSouth). Tennessee will take on the winner of no. 7 seeded Vanderbilt (21-8, 9-7 SEC) and no. 10 seeded Mississippi State (14-15, 4-12 SEC) who play in opening round action on Mar. 1.

2012 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards:

First Team All-SEC
C'eira Ricketts, Arkansas
Jennifer George, Florida
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
LaSondra Barrett, LSU
Glory Johnson, Tennessee
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Sarah Watkins, Arkansas
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
La'Keisha Sutton, South Carolina
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Markeshia Grant, South Carolina
Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
Diamber Johnson, Mississippi State

All-Freshman Team
Calli Berna, Arkansas
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Erika Ford, Georgia
Bria Goss, Kentucky
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Ariel Massengale, Tennessee
Kady Schrann, Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
Porsha Porter, Mississippi State
Glory Johnson, Tennessee
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
La'Keisha Sutton, South Carolina

Coach of the Year
Tom Collen, Arkansas

Player of the Year
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
Bria Goss, Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year
Glory Johnson, Tennessee

6th Woman of the Year
Deana Allen, Florida
Keyla Snowden, Kentucky

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Blanche Alverson, Auburn

Powered by Frankly