Three Lady Mocs earn All-SoCon honors - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Three Lady Mocs earn All-SoCon honors

Posted: Updated:

CHATTANOOGA (UTC/SoCon) -- The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga secured three spots in the ten-member 2012 Southern Conference Coaches' All-Conference Team.

The league announced the postseason honors on Wednesday.

Senior Whitney Hood, junior Kayla Christopher, and sophomore Taylor Hall each garnered All-SoCon honors. It's the second straight selection for Hood and Christopher and the first for Hall.

Hood led the Lady Mocs in scoring and is sixth in the league with 13 points per game, while also leading the conference in field goal percentage at 49.7 percent. She is 12th in the league in rebounding (5.6 rpg) and seventh from the free throw line (78.1 percent).

Christopher is sixth in the league with a team-high 31.6 minutes per game. She leads UTC with 46 3-pointers (5th-SoCon) and climbed to fifth on the Lady Mocs all-time charts in that category with 165 over her three years.

Hall, playing her first full season with the Lady Mocs, is second in the SoCon in rebounding with 8.7 boards per game. She is third on the team in scoring with 8.8 points per game, finishing the season with a career-high 24 points against Appalachian State on Monday night.

Davidson's Michele Savage was selected the league's Coach of the Year by her peers and Wildcat junior Sophia Aleksandravicius was named the conference Player of the Year. She also was tabbed the league's Defensive Player of the Year and Furman's Brittany Hodges was named the Freshman of the Year.

Aleksandravicius finished the regular season leading the league in rebounds (9.1 rpg), blocked shots (3.1), defensive rebounds (6.8) and finished third in scoring (13.7 ppg). The Pound Ridge, NY native was also named the Preseason Player of the Year

The 2012 Southern Conference Women's Basketball Tournament begins Friday, March 2 at 11:30 a.m. at Kimmel Arena in Asheville, N.C. The championship game is scheduled for Monday, March 5 at 5:00 p.m. 

2012 SoCon Women's Basketball Awards 

All-Conference Team
Anna Freeman, Appalachian State
Courtney Freeman, Appalachian State
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson
Laura Murray, Davidson
Ali Ford, Elon
Paige Anderson, Samford
Whitney Hood, Chattanooga
Kayla Christopher, Chattanooga
Taylor Hall, Chattanooga
Kaila'Shea Menendez, Western Carolina 

All-Freshmen Team
Maryah Sydnor, Appalachian State
Sam Coffer, Elon
Brittany Hodges, Furman
Taylor Reece, Samford
Ali Lane, Western Carolina

Player of the Year
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson 

Defensive Player of the Year
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson

Freshman of the Year
Brittany Hodges, Furman

Coach of the Year
Michele Savage, Davidson

Information provided by UTC Sports Information and SoCon Media Relations.

Powered by WorldNow
Can't find what you're looking for?

900 Whitehall Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
(423) 267-5412

WRCB Jobs EEO | FCC Public Files

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WRCB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.