Trio of Bulldogs, 6 Tide players on AP All-America teams - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Trio of Bulldogs, 6 Tide players on AP All-America teams

Posted: Updated:

NEW YORK (AP) - A total of nineteen Southeastern Conference players, including three from the University of Georgia, were selected to The Associated Press All-America team released Wednesday.

Linebacker Jarvis Jones and safety Baccari Rambo gave the Bulldogs a pair of first-team honorees, while offensive lineman Cordy Glenn was a third-team selection.

Running back and Heisman Trophy finalist Trent Richardson was one of six Alabama players honored, which was the most for one school in the country. The Tide also led the list with four first-team nods.

Richardson was joined on the first team by tackle Barrett Jones, linebacker Dont'a Hightower and safety Mark Barron. Linebacker Courtney Upshaw and cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick made the second team.

LSU's Tyrann Mathieu and Morris Claiborne paired with Barron and Rambo to give the SEC all four first-team spots in the secondary. SEC players took eight of the 12 possible spots on the first-team defense, with Mathieu and Claiborne making the top-ranked Tigers the first team with two cornerbacks on the first team.

Mathieu, a Heisman Trophy finalists, and Claiborne were joined on the All-America team by Heisman Trophy winner Robert Griffin III of Baylor and finalists Montee Ball of Wisconsin. Heisman runner-up Andrew Luck from Stanford was the second-team quarterback.

The team released Monday was selected by a panel of 16 AP poll voters.

2011 AP All-American Team (SEC In Bold)


Quarterback --
Robert Griffin III, junior, 6-foot-2, 220 pounds, Baylor.
Running backs -- Montee Ball, junior, 5-11, 210, Wisconsin; Trent Richardson, junior, 5-11, 224, Alabama.
Tackles -- Barrett Jones, senior, 6-5, 311, Alabama;
Matt Kalil, junior, 6-7, 295, Southern California.
Guards -- David DeCastro, senior, 6-5, 310, Stanford; Kevin Zeitler, senior, 6-4, 318, Wisconsin.
Center -- David Molk, senior, 6-2, 286, Michigan.
Wide receivers -- Justin Blackmon, junior, 6-1, 215, Oklahoma State; Robert Woods, sophomore, 6-1, 180, Southern California.
Tight end -- Dwayne Allen, junior, 6-4, 255, Clemson.
All-purpose player -- Sammy Watkins, freshman, 6-1, 180, Clemson.
Kicker -- Randy Bullock, senior, 5-9, 212, Texas A&M.

Ends -- Melvin Ingram, senior, 6-2, 276, South Carolina;
Whitney Mercilus, junior, 6-4, 265, Illinois.
Tackles -- Devon Still, senior, 6-5, 310, Penn State; Jerel Worthy, junior, 6-3, 310, Michigan State.
Linebackers -- Luke Kuechly, junior, 6-3, 237, Boston College; Jarvis Jones, sophomore, 6-3, 241, Georgia; Dont'a Hightower, junior, 6-4, 260, Alabama.
Cornerbacks -- Morris Claiborne, junior, 6-0, 185, LSU; Tyrann Mathieu, sophomore, 5-9, 175, LSU.
Safeties -- Mark Barron, senior, 6-2, 218, Alabama; Bacarri Rambo, junior, 6-0, 218, Georgia.
Punter -- Brad Wing, freshman, 6-3, 184, LSU.


Quarterback --
Andrew Luck, junior, Stanford.
Running backs -- LaMichael James, junior, Oregon; David Wilson, junior, Virginia Tech.
Tackles -- Jonathan Martin, senior, Stanford; Nate Potter, senior, Boise State.
Guards -- Will Blackwell, senior, LSU; Austin Pazstor, senior, Virginia.
Center -- Peter Konz, junior, Wisconsin.
Wide receivers -- Ryan Broyles, senior, Oklahoma; Kendall Wright, senior, Baylor.
Tight end -- Tyler Eifert, junior, Notre Dame.
All-purpose player -- Joe Adams, senior, Arkansas.
Kicker -- Caleb Sturgis, junior, Florida.

Ends --
Frank Alexander, senior, Oklahoma; Vinny Curry, senior, Marshall.
Tackles -- Joe Vellano, junior, Maryland; Derek Wolfe, senior, Cincinnati.
Linebackers -- Courtney Upshaw, senior, Alabama; Lavonte David, senior, Nebraska; Manti Teo, junior, Notre Dame.
Cornerbacks -- David Amerson, sophomore, North Carolina State; Dre Kirkpatrick, junior, Alabama.
Safeties --
Markelle Martin, senior, Oklahoma State; Antonio Allen, senior, South Carolina.
Punter --
Ryan Allen, junior, Louisiana Tech.


Quarterback --
Matt Barkley, junior, Southern California.
Running backs -- Ronnie Hillman, sophomore, San Diego State; Bobby Rainey, senior, Western Kentucky.
Tackles -- Levy Adcock, senior, Oklahoma State; Cordy Glenn, senior, Georgia.
Guards --
Ryan Miller, senior, Colorado; Gabe Ikard, sophomore, Oklahoma.
Center -- Grant Garner, senior, Oklahoma State.
Wide receivers -- Jordan White, senior, Western Michigan; Patrick Edwards, senior, Houston.
Tight end -- Coby Fleener, senior, Stanford.
All-purpose player -- Tavon Austin, junior, West Virginia.
Kicker -- Quinn Sharp, junior, Oklahoma State.

Ends -- Sam Montgomery, sophomore, LSU;
Andre Branch, senior, Clemson.
Tackles -- John Simon, junior, Ohio State; Fletcher Cox, junior, Mississippi State.
Linebackers --
Tank Carder, senior, TCU; Sammy Brown, senior, Houston; Emmanuel Acho, senior, Texas.
Cornerbacks -- Nigel Malone, junior, Kansas State; Brodrick Brown, junior, Oklahoma State.
Safeties -- Josh Bush, senior, Wake Forest; George Iloka, senior, Boise State.
Punter -- Shawn Powell, senior, Florida State.

Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly