LSU, Bama headline top NCAA honors - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

LSU, Bama headline top NCAA honors

Posted: Updated:

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) - It has been LSU's year in college football,and it was the Tigers' night at the 21st annual College Football Awards.

Members of the Tigers' secondary won two of the major awards presented Thursday night.

Cornerback and Heisman Trophy nominee Tyrann Mathieu won the Chuck Bednarik Award as the college defensive player of the year, and teammate Morris Claiborne was took the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's outstanding defensive back.

The 5-foot-9, 175-pound Mathieu is the second straight LSU back to win the Bednarik Award, following Patrick Peterson, who turned over his No. 7 to Mathieu.

Fresh off sweeping SEC Offensive Player of the year honors, Alabama's Trent Richardson won the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back. Richardson beat out fellow Heisman Trophy finalist Montee Ball of Wisconsin, as well as last year's Doak Walker winner LaMichael James of Oregon.

The Crimson Tide junior is the first Alabama player to win the award.

Richardson's teammate Barrett Jones won the Outland Trophy as the nation's most outstanding interior lineman. Stanford's David DeCastro and Penn State's Devon Still were the other finalists.

Jones is the third Alabama player to win the Outland, joining Chris Samuels in 1999 and Andre Smith in 2008.

Richardson and Jones also joined Alabama linebacker Dont'a Hightower and safety Mark Barron in being selected as Walter Camp first-team All-Americans. The Tide's four selections were the most for one program, and one more than rival LSU.

Georgia sophomore linebacker Jarvis Jones was also a first-team Walter Camp All-American selection after leading the SEC with 13.5 sacks. UGA tight end Orson Charles and safety Baccari Rambo were second-team honorees.

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck won the Maxwell Award as the player of the year, and Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III received the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. Both are nominees for the Heisman Trophy, which will be awarded Saturday in

New York. Justin Blackmon of Oklahoma State became the second two-time winner of the Biletnikof Award as the nation's outstanding receiver.

Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly