By David Carroll

CLEVELAND, TN (WRCB)- There is strong interest in the position to succeed Dr. Rick Denning as director of Cleveland City Schools.  The Tennessee School Boards Association, which has coordinated the application process, reports 23 candidates applied by last Friday's deadline.  The TSBA will now screen the candidates, and recommend an undetermined number of finalists for School Board approval.  The Board will begin interviews in February in hopes of naming a new Director in March.  Dr. Denning retires June 30.

Here is the list of applicants:

1.       Dr. Ronald Boykins – Fayetteville, GA – President of National School Improvement Alliance

2.       Robert Hanson Brittingham – Chattanooga, TN – Principal, Michigan Ave. Elementary

3.       Dr. Irma R. Brooks – Forsyth, IL – Exec. Director, Decatur Area Educ. Coalition

4.       Dr. Damon R. Cathey – Kingsport, TN – Asst. Supt., Kingsport City Schools

5.       Dr. Clarence "Russ" Chesser – Macon, GA – Principal,Hutchings Career Ctr. HS

6.       Douglas W. Cotton – Glasgow, KY – Education Consultant

7.       Jeffrey B. Elliott – Cleveland, TN – Principal, Cleveland MS

8.       Dr. Brenda James-Ford – Conyer, GA – Principal, A.Z. Kelsey/Kennedy Rd. MS

9.       Dr. Leon Hobbs – Flowery Branch, GA – Pres. & CEO Hobbs Leadership Team

10.   Dr. Marvin H. Jeter, III – Jackson, MS – Principal in Tulsa, OK until 10/10

11.   David G. Martin – Hermitage, TN – Principal, Jere Baxter Middle School

12.   Dr. Alan Miller – Eufaula, AL – Director of Student Svc's, Eufaula City Schools

13.   D. Scott Porter – Bluford, IL – District Supt/Principal,Bluford Comm. Consolidated

14.   Dr. Christiaan J. Ramsey – Marshall, NC – Principal, Mars Hill Elementary

15.   Zoe Vaughan Renfro – Cleveland, TN – Dist. Coordinator, Alternative & Adult Ed.

16.   James F. Rickley – Melrose Park, PA – Former Asst. Supt., Lander Co. School Dist., NV

17.   Dr. Martin E. Ringstaff – Bristol, TN – Director of Personnel, Bristol,VA Public Schools

18.   Dr. David M. Roper – Murfreesboro, TN – Asst. Professor, MTSU

19.   Dan Schlafer – Fairfield Glade, Tn – Federal Programs Director, Monroe Co. Schools

20.   Duane Schriver – Cleveland, TN - Retired

21.   Dr. Lynn E. Seifert – Hailey, ID – Principal, Silver Creek HS

22.   Dr. Thomas A. Sparks – Orangeburg, SC – Superintendent, Orangeburg Consolidated School, SC

23.   Keevin Woody – Kingston, TN – Principal, Roane Co. Schools, Midway Elem.