Bredesen requests disaster relief for 28 counties - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Bredesen requests disaster relief for 28 counties

NASHVILLE, TN. (AP) - Gov. Phil Bredesen is requesting additional federal disaster assistance for farmers in 28 Tennessee counties as a result of drought and excessive heat during the growing season.

The counties are Bedford, Bradley, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Dyer, Fayette, Hamilton, Henry, Hickman, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Moore, Perry, Polk, Rhea, Rutherford, Sequatchie, Sevier, Sullivan, Tipton, Unicoi, Union, Washington and Williamson.

Farmers in these counties have reported crop losses ranging from 30 to 50%, and higher in some cases. Livestock producers have also reported feeding winter stocks of hay earlier than normal due to poor pasture conditions.

Bredesen's request follows a similar one earlier this year for 14 counties, all of which were approved for federal aid.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Powered by Frankly