Red Bank High Retires Wright's Jersey, Welcomes Hall of Famers - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

Red Bank High Retires Wright's Jersey, Welcomes Hall of Famers

Phoebe Wright Phoebe Wright

RED BANK, TN (WRCB) -  Red Bank High School recently inducted ten graduates into its Hall Of Fame.  The school's Hall of Fame is in its 11th year. The graduation dates of this year's inductees range from 1946 to 1995.

Also honored was eight-time NCAA All-American and 2006 Red Bank High School graduate Phoebe Wright, who recently won the 800-meter national title for the University of Tennessee. Wright's jersey was retired.  Her UTK bio lists: Two-time NCAA DMR champion (2008, 2009)...2009 NCAA Indoor 800m runner-up...Six-time All-American (DMR, 800m, 4x400mR)...Four-time SEC champion (twice in 800m, twice with DMR)...Nine-time SEC scorer...World record-holder with indoor DMR and outdoor 4x1500m...American record-holder with outdoor 4x800m and the two previously mentioned tandems...Owns five UT records on relays...Ranks No. 2 indoors and No. 3 outdoors on UT all-time 800m lists...First-Team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American.

The honored inductees for the 2010 Hall of Fame are:

Clarence "Burr" Beavers – Class of 1946
John P. Rutledge – Class of 1950
Patricia Lauper Smith – Class of 1957
Dr. Jim Pirkle – Class of 1958
David B. Ramsay – Class of 1959
Dr. Carol Moore – Class of 1967
Chip O'Neal – Class of 1980
Sheri Hundley Robertson – Class of 1986
Katrina Chatfield Jenkins – Class of 1995
Mandi Munn - Class of 1995

Powered by Frankly