State of Emergency Declared in Georgia - | Chattanooga News, Weather & Sports

State of Emergency Declared in Georgia

Posted: Updated:

ATLANTA (AP) - Gov. Sonny Perdue has issued a state of emergency for 17 Georgia counties that were affected by heavy rain and severe weather.

Perdue issued the declaration Monday afternoon after viewing storm damage in Douglas and Paulding counties from the air.

The storm has battered the Southeast and is blamed for five deaths in Georgia. Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Stephens and Walker counties are covered by the order.

The governor said he and his wife were saddened by the deaths and are focused on rescuing victims and preventing further damage.

Powered by Frankly